Tuesday, May 15, 2018

George's Briefs: "The Ing..." OKB Trio

If you're seeking some straight ahead, unadorned and reliable trio sounds, this will likely fill the bill. Pianist Oscar Perez and colleagues Kuriko Tsugawa, bass and Brian Woodruff, drums, (hence, OKB) are right in the pocket on five originals and five standards ranging from "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter" to "Please Send Me Someone To Love"; and from "I Remember You" to the ancient rock and roll opus "High Heel Sneakers"! Real deal piano trio music always remains refreshingly relevant. And here's a finely honed example of it.
Queens Jazz OverGround; 2018; appx. 70 min. 

No comments:

Post a Comment