Thursday, January 18, 2024

Thomas Linger; Out In It

Speaking of new names, here's Thomas Linger. His quartet includes some seasoned players who know when to turn on the heat AND when to display a more modest but always swinging approach. Linger himself always sounds impressively right in the center of the jazz tradition. Joined by Peter Bernstein on guitar; Vasushi Nakamura, bass; and Joe Farnsworth, drums, this lyrical quartet tells the truth on nine fresh, invigorating originals and one classic standard: I always love hearing Billy Strayhorn's masterpiece, “Lush Life”. To put it simply, this is yet another jazz triumph for Cellar Music.

Cellar Music; 2023; appx. 56 min.

No comments:

Post a Comment